A-Plus Driver Education Fredericton

A-Plus Driver Education Fredericton: Teen Course, Seniors & Winter Lessons, and What to Ask First

310 Main St, Fredericton, NB Β· Also Saint John Β· Serving New Brunswick since 1991 Β· Prices not published

πŸš— 10 Hours In-CarπŸ‘΄ Seniors Program❄️ Winter Driving🏠 Free City Pickup

A-Plus Driver Education (the website calls it A Plus Drivers Ed) is a small driving school with offices in Fredericton and Saint John. Its site says it has been training New Brunswick drivers since 1991, and that all of its staff are certified by the province. The Fredericton office is at 310 Main Street.

Most driving schools only sell the teen course. A-Plus also sells three things that are easy to overlook: hourly lessons for experienced drivers who are new to New Brunswick, a seniors program that includes help preparing for a Service New Brunswick re-test, and a winter driving lesson. The school does not publish any prices, its website looks like it has not been updated in years, and there are very few independent reviews. This page covers what the school offers and how to get the answers you need before paying.

At a Glance

1991
Serving NB since
10 h
One-on-one in-car
2
Offices: Fredericton, Saint John
0
Prices published

What They Teach

Main Course

Full Program (teens)

Online theory at your own pace, a 5-hour in-person classroom review with a test, and 10 hours one-on-one in the car. Includes the school’s car for your provincial road test when you are ready, and a certificate for an insurance reduction.

Road Test Prep (hourly lessons)

Pay-by-the-hour lessons for people who already drive well, such as someone licensed in another province or country. The school says “lessons only” is usually the right choice for them.

Seniors

A private session with an instructor, either an overall check of your driving or work on one thing, such as getting ready to re-test at Service New Brunswick. Also meant for drivers shaken by a near miss.

Winter Driving

Practice for dry snow, slush and freezing rain. The school notes that in extreme weather the best choice is to stay off the road.

How the Full Program Works

This is the course for new teen drivers. According to the school’s course page:

  • Theory: a self-paced online portion you do whenever you like, followed by 5 hours in a classroom for review and a test.
  • Driving: 10 hours of one-on-one lessons in dual-brake cars with extra mirrors.
  • Topics: traffic law, vision and awareness, defensive driving, collision avoidance and bad-weather driving, using the provincial Driver’s Handbook and the “How to Drive” manual.
  • Road test: the school’s car is available for your Service NB road test once the instructor says you are ready.
  • Pickup: free for in-car lessons within the city limits, with some exceptions the school does not list.

One thing does not match. Some directory listings describe the program as “25 hours of classroom instruction.” The school’s own page now says online theory plus a 5-hour session, so ask the office which one you will actually get before you sign up.

Why Take a Course at All?

New Brunswick does not require one. The reason to take it is time and insurance:

  • Time: with a course from a licensed driving school, you can take the Level 2 road test after 8 months instead of 12. The Level 2 minimum age drops from 17 to 16 years and 8 months. The full graduated program still takes at least 24 months (Government of New Brunswick).
  • Insurance: the school says the Full Program comes with a certificate for an insurance premium reduction. It gives no amount, so call your insurer and ask what the certificate is worth before you count on it.
  • Only the full program counts. The school says hourly in-car lessons on their own do not qualify for the insurance savings.

If You Are Not a Teenager

Two groups get the most out of the extra services:

  • Experienced drivers new to New Brunswick. If you hold a licence from another province or country and just need to pass the road test, hourly lessons cost less than a full course. The school can lend you its car for the test once an instructor checks you are ready.
  • Older drivers. The seniors session is a one-on-one review, and it can be aimed at a specific goal, such as the re-test Service New Brunswick sometimes asks for. The school does not say how long a session is or what it costs.

Prices

⚠️ No prices are published. The school’s pages send you to an online store and registration links, and we could not find a figure for the Full Program, hourly lessons, the seniors session or winter driving. We have not guessed.

To get a number, call 506-459-5285 (Fredericton) or 506-696-5284 (Saint John), or email info@aplusdrivered.ca. These published prices from other Fredericton-area schools give you something to compare against:

School Listed price What it covers
Atlantic Driving Academy $829 plus HST Online learning, 5 hours in the classroom and 10 hours on the road (its own page)
U Drive Academy $725 including tax 25 hours classroom and 10 hours behind the wheel; registration shown as “coming soon”
Global Driving School $750 (comparison site) Full course; tax and hours not stated
First Rate Driver $765 in-person, $60 per extra hour (comparison site) Tax and hours not stated

These come from each school’s page or a comparison listing and may be out of date, so ask each school for a written total with 15% HST.

Where to Find Them

Fredericton

310 Main Street, Fredericton, NB E3A 1E4. Phone 506-459-5285. One directory shows a different postal code, E3B 6K9, so check the address on the school’s contact page.

Saint John

156 Westmorland Road, Unit 302, Saint John, NB E2J 2E7. Phone 506-696-5284. We found no reviews for this office.

Hours

The website does not list hours. Yelp and Yellow Pages show Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 5 PM, closed weekends. Lessons are booked separately.

Contact

info@aplusdrivered.ca, or the contact form on the site. There is also a student and parent login for registered students.

What People Say

There is not much to go on, so be careful with any rating you see:

  • Yelp: 4.0 out of 5 from one review, which praised the staff and the teen driving centre. The listing is unclaimed.
  • GetPassed: an excerpt from a student with no driving experience who felt well taught and credits an instructor named Graeme. The excerpt is cut off and undated.
  • The school’s own site: a parent testimonial praising an instructor’s patience and clear teaching. It is chosen by the school.
  • Another directory: showed 3.2 out of 5 from 24 votes. That page no longer loads, so we could not check it.

That is a thin and mixed picture, not a verdict. Ask the office for the names of current instructors and look for recent reviews on Google before you decide. These are our summaries of public reviews, not endorsements, and individual experiences vary.

Questions to Ask Before You Pay

  • What is the price for the Full Program, with HST? And for an extra hour?
  • Is the classroom part 5 hours or 25 hours? The website and the directories disagree.
  • When is the next class, and how soon can I start driving? Class dates sit in the registration system, not on the course pages.
  • What happens if I cancel or miss a lesson? The pages list no cancellation or refund policy.
  • What are the pickup exceptions? The school says “within city limits, with some exceptions.”
  • How much is the insurance certificate worth? Ask your insurer too.
  • Is the Saint John office staffed now? If that is your location, confirm it before you drive over.
  • Who are the current instructors? Ask whether lessons are available in French.

What We Could and Couldn’t Verify

  • Public sources used: the school’s website (home, about, locations, services, contact and course pages), the Government of New Brunswick graduated licence page, Yelp, Yellow Pages, MapQuest, GetPassed and search listings.
  • How current the site is: the footer shows a 2017 copyright. Hours, prices and class dates may have changed, so call before relying on it.
  • Provincial certification: the school says its staff are all certified by the province. We did not find an official list of certified instructors to check this against.
  • Since 1991: this is the school’s own claim. No owner or instructor names are published.
  • Not published: prices, class schedule, cancellation policy, hours, vehicle details, and the length of the seniors and winter sessions.

Common Questions

Where is A-Plus Driver Education?

310 Main Street, Fredericton, NB E3A 1E4, with a second office at 156 Westmorland Road, Unit 302, in Saint John.

How much does the course cost?

The school does not publish prices. Call 506-459-5285 in Fredericton or 506-696-5284 in Saint John, or email info@aplusdrivered.ca.

How many in-car hours are included?

10 hours of one-on-one lessons in the Full Program, in dual-brake cars.

Can I use the school’s car for my road test?

Yes. The school says its car is included for your Service NB road test once you are assessed as ready.

Do hourly lessons get me an insurance discount?

No. The school says only the Full Program qualifies for the insurance reduction.

Does the school help older drivers?

Yes, with a private session that can be an overall review or preparation for a re-test at Service New Brunswick. Price and length are not published.

Do they teach winter driving?

Yes, a course for snow, slush and freezing rain. Price and length are not published.

Do they pick me up?

Yes, free within the city limits for in-car lessons, with some exceptions.

How do I register?

Use the Register link on the school’s website, call one of the two offices, or email info@aplusdrivered.ca.

Who This School Is For

A-Plus is a good candidate if you live in Fredericton or Saint John and want a long-running local school with city pickup, or if you are an older driver or newcomer who needs something other than a teen course. The winter lesson is also a practical extra in a city that gets real snow.

It is a weaker fit if you want a published price, a posted cancellation policy or lots of recent reviews before you call. Ask for the total, the class dates and the cancellation terms in writing, and compare with the other Fredericton schools.

See all New Brunswick driving schools on DRGO, or read our New Drivers Guide for how licensing works across Canada.

Contact A-Plus Driver Education

πŸ“ Fredericton
310 Main Street
Fredericton, NB E3A 1E4
πŸ“ž Contact
Fredericton 506-459-5285
Saint John 506-696-5284
info@aplusdrivered.ca
aplusdrivered.com
⏰ Hours
Mon–Fri 9 AM – 5 PM (directory listings)
Not listed on the school’s site
πŸ“‹ Know Before You Book
βœ“Serving New Brunswick since 1991
βœ“10 hours in-car, school car for road test
βœ“Seniors and winter driving sessions
βœ“Free pickup inside city limits
!No prices or cancellation policy published
!Few independent reviews, site shows 2017 copyright

Info compiled from the school’s website, the Government of New Brunswick graduated licence page, Yelp, Yellow Pages, MapQuest, GetPassed and search listings. Prices, ratings and review counts are school-published or third-party and can change. Last reviewed October 2026. DRGO.ca is not affiliated with A-Plus Driver Education; confirm current pricing, class dates and policies directly before booking.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top